Month One of the New Life

So… do you think that I’ve managed to live without smoking?

The answer is… YES! I have not had a cigarette since 4 November at 9 PM. That means that I’ve entered week six in my life sans nicotine. While I feel like I’ve been a little off for the last thirty-five days, I have survived. I have faced a number of challenges along the way, confronting the roadblocks that I’ve faced in the past and persevering. I have successfully drank without falling victim to the craving, I have eaten everything in sight and not ran to the gas station for the appetite suppresant, and I have driven halfway across the country and not picked up a pack to keep me company. I’ve faced my fair share of stress in the last few weeks, and I still didn’t turn back to Joe Camel to get me through the situation. I’ve just learned to take a step back and breathe, and it’s working for the most part.

This has definitely been a ride, and it’s still going. I still have to fight the temptation to break down and smoke. I have developed a keen sense of smell for secondhand smoke and feel like I pick up a whiff at every turn. I realize that I’ll probably never lose that, and that’s OK. I guess that I’ll just have to learn the hard way when I smoke a cigarette and instantly get sick. That’ll teach me.

This little experiment with asking for donations has been the motivating force behind quitting and holding to it. Whenever I do get the crazy idea to bum a cigarette from someone or even worse, buy an entire pack, I think about all of the people that have contributed to my cause. Your support, whether it was financial or emotional, has been what has made this life transition that much easier. For that, I thank you.

However, you’ll notice that I’m still eighty dollars short of my goal. If you need another incentive to donate, then consider this the icing on the cake. I have someone that has come forward to match all donations, up to $750. That’s right – your donation will now be worth twice as much. Together, we now have the potential to raise $1500 for the Katie Memorial Foundation. That means that Quitting for Katie will fund half of a Katie Evans Memorial Scholarship or three KMF Leadership Grants. That’s pretty awesome, right?

So what do you say? Help me out? Make sure that I stay smoke-free.

This entry was posted in the journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Month One of the New Life

  1. Nathan says:

    Way to go Kyle! Keep it up. And best wishes in your fundraising!

Leave a Reply

