Week One of the New Life

The first of the month came, and I was prepared to take on life without cigarettes. I began the new life getting ready to head to Milwaukee for a conference for the week. I got through Tuesday pretty easily – I made sure that I kept myself busy. I constantly had the next task in mind for what I finished the current one. That day shall go down in history as the first day since I started smoking that I went the entire day without a cigarette.

Unfortunately, 2 November was not the second day that I went the entire day. I hit one of my roadblocks, and I hit it real hard. Wednesday was the night of happy hours and open houses, which meant that there was alcohol… in abundance. When you find yourself drinking at a bar, you know that you’re going to run into some smokers. And I did. I fell off the wagon and had two cigarettes that night. I got back on for Thursday, and I thought that I was in the clear.

I came home on Friday afternoon, and after a large lunch, I made a beeline for my nightstand drawer that hid the last pack that I bought. I smoked one, and sadly/gladly, didn’t get much out of it. I then proceeded to weigh myself [I did a LOT of eating in MKE], cried a little, and packed my bag for the gym. After a shitty workout that didn’t feel great, I proceeded to smoke another cigarette. Now, before you all freak out, I did something that I’ve never done in previous times when trying to quit. I threw away the pack, which had more than half of the cigarettes remaining. See? That’s progress.

I got through the weekend without too many issues – a minor panic attack here and there, but nothing major. I survived the stress of the video card blowing up on my laptop and the subsequent mob of people at the Apple store. I survived the weigh-in and subsequent workout [it went better this time]. I survived sitting at the reference desk for three and a half hours with no questions and the subsequent ‘I just need one source’ question at ten minutes until closing. That’s right, I survived.

So I’ve managed to go two full days without a cigarette [for the record, I haven’t done that in a while]. However, I fully realize that I’m not out of this – I knew that it wouldn’t be a cake walk. You know what’s been awesome? The support, both words of encouragement and the donations to KMF, has really made the difference. No lie – the fact that I’ve raised over $600 on this little cause of mine has given me more strength that I could receive from the patch or gum.

While I now call myself a non-smoker, I could still use your help. I’ve got a little bit more money to raise, and I’d love your assistance in reaching my goals. Thanks in advance.

This entry was posted in the cause, the journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week One of the New Life

  1. johnwevans says:

    Hey Kyle,

    Sounds like some awesome progress–no doubt, a process, too🙂 Congrats with all of your success so far!

    Sincerely,

    John

Leave a Reply

