Roadblock: Weight Gain

For those that have known me a long time know that my weight has taken a roller coaster ride. I was a chubby kid growing up and into college [maybe working at Jimmy John’s WASN’T a good idea]. I studied abroad in Barcelona and when I flew back to the states, I left forty pounds back in Spain. Grad school started out well, but the American portions and fast food came back to bite me in the ass. Moving to the land of cheese wasn’t a good move for the waist line either, as I nearly approached the two-hundred pound mark. Fortunately, I fell in love… with the gym. I’ve managed to keep off those majority of the weight that I gained after returning from Spain.

How, you ask? Do I continue my love affair with Snap Fitness? Sadly, that’s an on-again, off-again fling that has been difficult to maintain over the last few years. No, truth be told – it’s the cigarettes. They truly are an amazing appetite suppressant. One of the reasons that I am TERRIFIED of quitting is gaining weight. Nearly everyone I know that has quit smoking gained weight. I remember when my host mom from Barcelona quit smoking, she was like, JODER! I’ve gained five kilos. That’s what scares me. I’ve already donated all of my ‘fat’ clothes and don’t want to buy new [bigger] clothes.

Counter-argument to this roadblock: I’ll actually be HEALTHIER with a little more weight on me AND I’ll be able to afford clothes with all of the money that I’m saving from not buying cigarettes.

I love arguments with myself – I always win.

This entry was posted in the roadblocks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roadblock: Weight Gain

  1. lacey says:

    Kyle! I have lost 25 lbs SINCE quitting (and since having a kid, no less). Just replace your cigarette break with a walk around the block instead of food. Drink lots of water. And remember… even if you do gain a few el-bees, you’ll be totally healthier overall. And you’ll smell better.🙂

Leave a Reply

