Roadblock: Alcohol

I kept up the two cigarettes at work for Thursday and Friday, and again, I got through it. I did have to go to the grocery store to get some granola bars for my office, but other than that, no one was hurt in the process.

The fun part was when I went to buy cigarettes after work on Friday – I was out at home, and it had been a long [short] week. I got the brilliant idea that I should also buy a six-pack of beer as well. At this point I had only smoked three cigarettes. Let’s just say that I ended up with only fourteen cigarettes left in the pack and one beer in the fridge. Friday’s total: nine.

I know that nicotine and alcohol go well together… like, really well. The pairing just seems natural. I remember hearing about the smoking bans in bars and thinking, ‘How’s that going to work?’ Having lived in a state with smoking bans in public places for a few years now, I can say that I don’t miss not being able to belly up to the bar and light up. On the other hand, some nights do require frequent trips outside.

Friday night made me realize one of the challenges that I will face come November. Who knows? Maybe I’ll just quit drinking too.

This entry was posted in the roadblocks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

