Roadblock: Driving

One of the reasons that I’ve been silent for the last week and a half is because I was busy driving across the country to New Mexico for a last-minute wedding. I didn’t know about this adventure when I put together Quitting for Katie, which is my rough timeline is a little off. However, it provides the perfect opportunity to talk about one major roadblock in the journey to quit smoking: driving.

Riding in the car with the windows down and the wind cooling me off on a hot day went hand-in-hand with driving. For the longest time, I used to chain smoke while driving. I can’t tell you how many cigarettes I used to smoke driving back and forth between Mom’s and Dad’s houses in high school. More recently, I would have two in the car on the way to work and on the way back [that was when my commute was only twenty minutes]. I thought that I’d never be able to break that habit.

Amazingly enough, something big happened: my trusty Lil Red died back in December. I bought a brand-new car, a 2011 Honda Civic named Miquel, and on that day, I vowed to not smoke in my new car. I’m happy to report that after owning the car for almost nine months, I still haven’t smoked in the car, and I don’t plan to. I just made a three-thousand-mile road trip without breaking down and smoking in the car [that’s not to say that I didn’t smoke on the drive].

It’s a small step, but at least it’s in the right direction, no? One roadblock down, more to go.

This entry was posted in the roadblocks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

